skip to Main Content

1st Annual Don Smith Memorial Golf Tournament

1st Annual Don Smith Memorial Golf Tournament

1st Annual Don Smith Memorial Golf Tournament at Franconia Golf Course 

The HBRAWM’s 1st Annual Don Smith Memorial Golf Tournament was held at Franconia Golf Course on Friday, May 11th. The tournament was renamed in honor of our past Chair, Don Smith of Smith Associates Surveyors who passed away recently. The weather was nice and everyone who attended the event had a great time. Participants hit the links at 10:00 a.m. and enjoyed lunch on the course. After everyone finished golfing, they proceeded over to the Springfield Elks Club for dinner and the awards ceremony.

The winning foursome for First Place was Scranton Motors consisting of Steve Mazza, Jarrod Gross, Mike Slyne and Jay Nomakeo. The winning foursome for Second Place was ABC Supply, Inc. consisting of Keith Nicoli, Eric Charest, John Garner and Tommy Vigliano. The winning foursome for Third Place was Westover Building Supply consisting of Marcus Thayer, Scott Tongue, Jeff Tongue and Tony Dosantos.

There was no Hole in One winner for the day however Cathy Sabella received closest to the pin on the Hole in One hole. We would like to thank A-Crane Construction, Boilard Lumber, Connecticut Business Systems, Laplante Construction Co., Oasis Shower Doors, and Westover Building Supply for sponsoring the Hole in One hole for the day.

Steve Mazza and Marie Lucier received closest to the pin on Hole #14. Jarrod Gross and Anne McMahon received Longest Drive on Hole #10.

This year we had the Don Smith 50/50 Closest to the Pin on Hole #5 (male and female) using only a Driver on your first shot. Whoever landed closest to the pin received half of the money collected. Everybody was great and participated in the contest. The winner for the day was Kevin Murphy for the men and Mary Russell for the ladies. Proceeds to benefit Don’s favorite charity, the HBRAWM Foundation.

The Home Builders and Remodelers Association of Western MA would like to thank the following Executive Foursome sponsors. They are: ABC Supply Co., Inc., A-Crane Construction Co., Abide, Inc., Andersen Windows, Bacon & Wilson, P.C., Bert Hill Moving & Storage, Boilard Lumber, Boyajian Remodeling, FastenMaster, Kelly Fradet Lumber, Laplante Construction, Co., Oasis Shower Doors, Republic Services, Scranton Motors, Smith Associates Surveyors, The Christensen Family, The Polish National Credit Union, Trus Joist-Weyerhauser, WLC Consultants and Westover Building Supply. 

Also, thank you to the following Tee/Green sponsors: Associated Building Wreckers, Breton Estates, Columbia Gas of Mass, Connecticut Business Systems, Contemporary Structures, Envision Marketing Group, Greater Springfield Habitat for Humanity, Hampden Zimmerman, LUSO Credit Union (2), SAFCO Foam, The Reminder Publications, Salemi Appliances, Turgeon & Associates, LLC and United Rentals (3). We thank everyone very much for their support. 

Everyone at the Home Builders and Remodelers Association of Western MA would like to thank all of the HBRAWM members that made this event possible through their generous donations. Several prizes were donated by Helen Smith, Susan Sullivan, Trus Joist Weyerhauser, Leone’s, Tim Gallagher, the Polish National Credit Union and ARS Emergency Restoration. All proceeds benefit the HBRAWM Foundation.