skip to Main Content

2018 Scholarship Recipients

2018 Scholarship Recipients

Springfield, Mass. – The Home Builders & Remodelers Association of Western Massachusetts (HBRA-WM) held their annual Scholarship Awards Ceremony on Wednesday, June 13, 2018 at their headquarters at 240 Cadwell Drive in Springfield to formally recognize the achievements of eight Member Scholarship Program recipients, two Vocational Scholarship recipients and nine Tool Acquisition Award /Educational Scholarship recipients.

To have been eligible for the $1,000 HBRA-WM Member Scholarship Program, the applicant had to be affiliated with a member or the employee of a member company. The association also awards area trade and vocational high school students $750 educational scholarships or tool acquisition awards to further their careers in the building industry. The association issued a request to each of the fourteen schools in their service area of Hampden, Hampshire, Franklin and Berkshire counties to recommend an exemplary student to compete for one of these awards. The HBRA-WM also offered vocational school students the opportunity to receive a $1,000 scholarship to the college of their choice. Any vocational student in the fourteen area trade schools could apply and compete for this scholarship. Since the inception of these programs, the association has awarded $400,500 to deserving students. 

The eight individuals selected as the 2018 HBRA-WM $1,000 Member scholarship recipients include: Kara Gasteyer, daughter of Robert & Lisa Gasteyer of Wilbraham, who will attend University of CT; Alyssa Boilard, daughter of Robert & Lizabeth Boilard of Wilbraham, who will attend University of New England; Kathryn Wells, daughter of Timothy & Kimberly Wells, who will attend Western New England University; Joshua Schulman, son of Dennis & Nancy Schulman, who will attend UMASS Isenberg Master’s Program; Abigail Edgin, daughter of Curtis & Laura Edgin, who will attend University of Louisville School of Medicine; Marisa Chamberland, daughter of Michael & Debra Chamberland, who will attend UMASS Amherst; Sydney Carrington, daughter of Jason & Isabel Carrington, who will attend Assumption College; Connor Kennedy, son of Joseph Kennedy & Jaimie Gulbamson, who will attend Westfield State University.

The two individuals selected as the 2018 HBRA-WM $1,000 Vocational Scholarship recipients include: Paige Shepard, daughter of Duane Shepard, who will attend the University of Rhode Island and James Dix, son of Shaun & Hope Bussiere, who will attend Gould Institute.

The nine individuals selected as the 2018 HBRA-WM $750 Tool/Educational Stipend Scholarship recipients include: Daniel Momaney, son of Kevin & Janice Momaney, who attended Franklin County Technical School; Joshua Topham, son of Dave & Jill Topham, who attended Lee High School; Andrew Stepchuk, son of Vladimire Stepchuk, who attended Lower Pioneer Valley Educational Collaborative; Zachary Smith, son of Randall & Michelle Smith, who attended Charles H. McCann Technical School; Aidan Leitl, son of Dan & Joyce Leitl, who attended Pathfinder Vocational Technical High School; Luke Menin, son of Larry & Nan Menin, who attended Pittsfield High School; Gray Dooley, son of Douglas Carvalho & Martina Dooley-Carvalho, who attended Smith Vocational & Agricultural High School; Riley Hanrahan, daughter of Neil & Lisa Hanrahan, who attended Tantasqua Regional High School and Gillian Ledoux, daughter of Michael & Carisa Ledoux, who attended Westfield Vocational Technical High School. 

The association applauds the achievements of these individuals and wishes them well in their future endeavors.